Runner & Fitness Blogger = One Tough Mother

Have me committed

Cause I just finished

 

The 30 day program took me 10 weeks, but only because I made it into a running hybrid, as I did not want to give up my 3 running days, and I wanted to do the whole program not just 3 days a week of it.

Asylum is no joke, it is tough, but I stayed within my skill level and I slowly progressed.

I wont lie, at one point (the lead up to Christmas), my body was feeling it. I was getting tired, and I wasn’t giving it my all.  I ended up skipping approx 3-4 workouts.  One being vertical plyo, another being back to core.  However that being said, I still worked out on those days I just did yoga instead, because my body really needed it.

So tomorrow is technically my last day of my asylum/run hybrid, and will be my last run before I do my Tough Mudder on Saturday.  This last run is suppose to be 8km, however due to it going to be a hot one, and time limitations, I’m doing just a 3km run, and will also to back to core as well.

So if you are thinking of doing asylum you need to consider the following:

Also excuse my extra rambling’s in there too.

  1. It is a sports performance workout.  If you are a beginner, put this workout down, and start off with something else. 
  2. If you are an athlete, in the Military or Special Forces, and looking for a workout, this is fantastic.
    If you are not an athlete just yet, this workout will make you one. But you need to be fit.
  3. Asylum is NOT Insanity.  It has elements of insanity, if anything Insanity’s ‘Max Interval Sport’s Training‘, gives you an idea of what to expect from Asylum.
    I also STRONGLY recommend doing insanity before doing asylum.
  4. You don’t need a jump rope.
    I have a small house.  Yeah I have high ceilings, but I don’t have a lot of ‘turning’ space for a jump rope.  It’s totally possible to do it without it.
  5. An agility ladder is a MUST.
    Sure you could tape your carpet and what not, but just get a ladder. My kids love playing with the ladder too.
  6. You will need weights or bands for Strength.  Go the weights, unless you do a lot of travelling, then go the bands.
  7. Know your limits, and STAY WITHIN YOUR SKILL LEVEL.
    Asylum will test you on so many different levels, especially in game day.  I found some of the sports in game day where a lot harder than others.  For me I totally sucked at rock climbing / bouldering.  Surfing I also didn’t do too well either.  But I did what I could do, and stayed within my skill level.  Shaun will repeat this to you as well.
  8. Don’t skip Relief.  Sure it’s another 24 minutes, but it will be the best 24 minutes of your day.  Do it after all your workouts if you can.
  9. Keep your eating as clean as possible.
    I was a bit slack with my diet, and could have been better with it.  But keep your macro’s at 40/40/30.  Meaning 40% Carbs / 40% Protein / 30% Fat.
    If anything concentrate on eating more protein.  You’re body will naturally convert any extra protein into carbs if it’s not needed.
  10. Stay committed.  You can do it!
    I say this, because I know, I did it.

So will I do Asylum again?  Most likely yes, but properly not for another 6 months at least.

