Runner & Fitness Blogger = One Tough Mother

So It Ends

In September 2011 I set a Push Goal to get to 65kg. I achieved that goal in June this year.

However a few months prior to that I had reassessed my goals, and I changed my weight goal from 65 to 62kg. I initial picked 65kg because it seem like a good solid number.  I number I had not seen in over a decade. I thought 62kg was just not possible at the time.  Or more so to big of a goal.

So why did I change my goal to 65 to 62kg?  For two reasons.
Reason 1: 62kg is a BMI of 22, which is smack bam in the middle of the healthy range.
Reason 2: If I could get to 65kg, what was stopping me from going that extra mile.

And so I did.  I went the extra mile.

That’s the things with goals.  Sometimes you have to change them.  Sometimes you realise ‘wait I’ve bitten off more than I can chew’, sometimes you realise ‘no, I can do more, I’m not challenging myself enough’.  So goals change all the time.

Last year I never thought I would be a runner.  The reason I started to run was because I had set a goal to be able to run 5km.  I also thought for some reason in my head that running was the epitome of being healthy and in shape. Running is great for the mind, body and soul, and I’m glad I put it on my list, because I would have never found a love for it.

And so my weight loss journey comes to an end.  I could be 😦 about that, but if anything I’m 😀 I’m booyeahing about it.

 

So what now?  Well I’m still going to run, and I’m still going to cross train, but now it’s all about maintaining, and setting new fitness challenges.

What about the weight? Well I do plan on building muscle.  Not body building – ew – but toning.  I want to be lean.  So yes the weight will change a bit, but as long as I can keep it between 62-64kg I’ll be happy.

Comments on: "So It Ends" (1)

  1. Hello Sunshine said:

    Wow! Congratulations! You are correct! You should not stop being fit when you have reached your goal because you might end up gaining the weight back again. Others have done that, like when they reach their weight goal, they stopped monitoring their food intake, stopped doing fitness exercise and all those kind of stuff so in the end, they all gained the weight back in no time.

Comments are closed.

