Runner & Fitness Blogger = One Tough Mother

Push for those goals

While filing some paper work on the weekend I came across an old goal list.  Ok so not super old, it was from 4th June 2012. As I looked at the list I realised that in just 3 months I have achieved 50% of my goals.  Yes 50% of them.  There were 10 goals on the list, 5 of them were achieved.  The rest of them are a work in progress, one of them will be completed very soon.

So what were those goals that I achieved? Well they were:

  1. Get to 65kg
  2. Run a sub 25min 5km  (achieved 25th August 2012)
  3. Run a sub 55min 10km (achieved 17th August 2012)
  4. Finish a half marathon (achieved 15th July 2012)
  5. Run a half marathon (achieved 15th July 2012)

One thing for sure is that this

You can wish as much as you like, but if you don’t actually put down in writing, whether that be the old pen and paper way, or via your phone/computer, then goals are not goals, but wishes. I wish for a lot of stuff, but as soon as I put in writing it really does push myself to go out and get it. Yes there are things that I do want to achieve.  Like run a marathon, that are a goal, not a wish, but I haven’t put it on my list.  Why?  Well the short of it, it clashes with my clarity statement, which relates to my family.  It’s also a time factor.  So when I get some time freed up then yes it will go back on the list.

So write a list of all the things you would love to achieve in the next 12 months.  Do it, and next week, write a new list.  So yes do it every week!
Then you will see how you really are achieving your dreams, and your wishes.

