Runner & Fitness Blogger = One Tough Mother

On the way

Yesterday was running club day.  I was a bit nervous to be honest because for the seniors it was a long one, 16km.  The furthest I had run was 13km, and that was doing 5:1 intervals (run:walk).  However I knew what I wanted to do.  I wanted to keep at pace.  My pace being 6.30 per km.  We all started off together as it was a sealed handicap.  While everyone raced off at the start I had a plan and that was to keep at pace.  Just because everyone else is going super fast doesn’t mean I should.  Slow and steady wins the race.
I forgot to reset my garmin after the kids had their run.  Both of them wanted to run, every time I asked Miles he was like ‘no i run’.  It was very cute, and I’m very proud of both of them.  And I’m so grateful for my friend Tom for helping me out and looking after them while I was off running.  Also another thank you to the other kids there keeping them entertained.

So I ran with my hydration pack.  I drank over a 1 litre on the course.  Sure it was a dead weight, but if I didn’t have it I would have been severely dehydrated by the end of the course. I could have taken my water bottle and left it at the halfway point but I figured I thought the hydration pack was a better idea.  I also surprised myself that I could actually run and take a sip of water with it.

At about the 2 km mark I nearly face planted myself. Tripped over a rock or a log that was buried into the track. Did the road runner thing with my arms, laughed at myself, you have to at these things. Didn’t injure myself, just dusted myself off and kept going.

By about the 3.5/4km mark I caught up with another runner. Phil. We were running at the same pace, so we kept at it all the way to the end. It was actually nice to chat to someone, also keeps you motivated, and to push yourself more. We did not see anyone else until about the 12-13 mark, and even then they were way off into the distance.  At the 13-14km mark we finally caught up with GaryS.  Gary is in his 70’s, and he was plodding along, but he was doing it, how awesome is that.  It was so good when we finally saw the 1km marker, it was also good to see the last 500m were all down hill.  It felt like the entire course was all uphill.
The other races all cheer you on at the end, it’s really motivational.

16k37sthdes

image by 37 south design

So it took me 101mins to do the 16km (1hr 41mins), but including the kids run it took me 17.5km in 1hr53mins.
http://connect.garmin.com:80/activity/embed/191722688
So the fact that I did that shows that I am on track, and that I will be able to knock of two of my goals.  1 finish a half marathon & 2 run a half marathon.  At my calculations it will take me about 2hrs 15-20mins.  (According to the McMillian Running Calculator 2hr15m58s) which if I can do I will be very happy about.

So I’m on my way, I’m on my way to achieving a goal that a year ago I would have never have thought would have been possible. So if you believe in yourself, plan it out, then anything is possible.

