Runner & Fitness Blogger = One Tough Mother

Puzzle Pieces

From October 2011

I truly believe that this week I have truly grown as a person. Things just are all coming together, and I really feel like I’m in a good place.
This week has been like a jigsaw puzzle. At the start all the pieces were everywhere, and slowly piece by piece it has all come together.
It started off with my pinteresting. I love my vision boards. I have boards for different sections of my life. One of these boards is fitness. In this board I have put various pins. Quotes, workout ideas, food idea’s, pictures of what I want to look like and so on.
One of the quotes that really spoke to me was “People live to eat, when we should eat to live”. And I thought to myself, wow that is very true. Everything seems to be revolved around food. You just can’t escape it. We have also become a really lazy society. I know that in the past I use to be like that. I say use to, because I know for a fact that I am changing. That my habits are changing, changing for the better.
People just want a quick fix, but you know what quick fixes do not and will not help you. If you want to get into shape and be healthier and fitter, then you have to do it the old fashion way of writing down your food, and moving more.
I have tired in the past to keep a food diary, but failed miserably. I just didn’t stick with it. I hated writing down every little thing I ate. Then back in August this year after doing a TurboFire workout something that Chalene really stuck with me. That was “you have to write down every little thing that you eat, you have to fuel your body like an athlete”. I thought to myself, if I really want to change, if I really want to do this for me, then I’m going to have to keep at it. So I did. It’s been proven that you have to stick with something for 21 (continuous) days to make a new habit. You have to stick it out, and I did, and I’m still going. I log everything! And I mean everything I eat. What ever goes into my mouth I log it. That is why I love MFP because I can actually see how many calories I’m using. I’m a visual person so seeing how many calories I’ve eaten or how many left I have really motivates me. It also helps me to make the right type of choices.

Another part of the piece I found from doing Chalene’s 30day challenge. I saw this challenge on her facebook page (I’m a fan of her page). I signed up, and currently on day 7. (It started on the 1st October, but I was away at the time, and really wanted to be in the right frame of mind to complete it.) And in just those 7 days wow have I seen a lot of changes already. This challenge is fantastic!, and to think I’m only on day 7, I can not wait to do the next few days. If you would like to do the challenge sign up http://www.chalenejohnson.com/30daychallenge/members/ you will not regret it.
So in this challenge I’ve created goals. My PUSH GOAL is that by 20th October 2012 I will be at my goal weight of 65kg/143lbs. I’m currently 73.6kg, so only 8.6kg/19lbs to go. My goal is realistic and achievable.
I’ve also blocked in my calender my workout schedule. My workouts are non negotiable! I allow for 1 day off a week, and 50% of the time, I end up doing some mild type of exercise on that day anyway, like walking.

And today, I found another piece. I was listening to the Joyce Meyers radio podcast (words to live by), now in her podcast she was saying that complaining = remaining. And it’s true. If you don’t change then you are going to remain the same. If you complain, you remain the same. If you don’t like something, change it. It’s that simple. We really do make things harder than they should be.
Sure I will complain, but I will get over it and move on, because I really like the person I am becoming. I’m going to bring it, each and every single time.

